Runner Up - Newtown Local Business of the Year 2024 (Third Sector)


New planning committee chair elected

By just a single vote, a new chairman has been appointed to steer a powerful Powys County Council committee for the next year.

2 weeks ago   2 minutes read   1,534 views

The image for New planning committee chair elected

By Elgan Hearn
Local Democracy Reporter

By just a single vote, a new chairman has been appointed to steer a powerful Powys County Council committee for the next year.

At the council’s Planning Taxi Licensing and Rights of Way committee’s annual meeting on Thursday, May 30, incumbent Cllr Karl Lewis who had been in the chair for six years faced opposition for the coveted role from, Cllr Gareth D Jones.

  Other Trending Stories

Cllr Jones has been the committee’s vice-chairman for the past two years.

Due to both councillors receiving nominations the committee went to a vote.

Cllr Jones who represents Llanfair Caereinion and is part of the newly formed Powys Independents group received nine votes and Cllr Lewis who represents Llandinam with Dolfor received eight votes.

Cllr Jones was then announced as the winner and new commttee chairman.

After taking over the hot seat, Cllr Jones said: “Thank you all for appointing me to be chairman of planning and can I take this opportunity to thank Karl for the past two years.”

The committee then turned its attention to finding a successor to Cllr Jones in the role of vice-chairman.

There were also two nominees for this role, Liberal Democrat Cllr Corinna Kenyon-Wade who represents Knighton with Beguildy and Conservative Cllr Adrian Jones who represents Berriew with Castle Caereinion.

Again, there was just one vote between the pair, and it was announced that Cllr (Adrian) Jones had received nine votes to Cllr Kenyon-Wade’s eight votes.

Due to the responsibility, the role of Planning committee chairman comes with a senior salary.

This year the chairman will receive £9,333 which is paid on top of the councillor’s basic salary of £18,666.

Cllr Karl Lewis had been in the role since May 2018 and hopes to make a swift return next year.

Cllr Lewis said: “I wish Cllrs Gareth Jones and Adrian Jones all the best for their year in office.

“I am not going far, and I will still be contributing towards positive and proactive debate in meetings, and as always putting the interests of the taxpayer first.

“I am sure if I have the Conservative group and the wider members of the councils support, I will be putting my name forward for chairman of the committee next year.”

The next Planning committee meeting is due to take place next Thursday, June 6.

You've viewed 1 stories so fas!

All About Newtown is an independent not-for-profit online news and information service for the town of Newtown in Mid Wales. We provide ad-free content, so rely on reader subscriptions and donations to run.

  Donate via PayPal

Related or similar stories based on this one

‘Extra power’ for councillors on planning

1 week ago

New Chair of Powys County Council appointed

1 year ago

Councillors to discuss tweaks to planning protocols

2 weeks ago

Critical report released over Council planning functions

1 year ago

Councillors get planning enforcement update

1 month ago

Why are planning meetings being cancelled?

1 year ago

Business of the Week
New Home Furnishings

Vastre Industrial Estate

Follow us

Connect with us on Facebook, X (formerly Twitter), Instagram and Google News


Award winning escape rooms go mobile

2 days ago

New bridge to be installed next week

15 hours ago

General Election 24: Oliver Lewis

1 day ago

Donate to us

We're a not-for-profit community interest company and have no corporate owners. We'd appreciate anything you can give to keep us providing free content.

  Donate via PayPal
Upcoming Events
A History (and Future) of Learning Disabilities in the UK

20/06/24 10:00am

Digital Friends’ Group

21/06/24 09:30am

David Bolton - TV Hypnotist

21/06/24 06:00pm

Latest Stories
New bridge to be installed next week

15 hours ago

Inflation returns to 2% target

16 hours ago

Final day to apply for postal vote in General Election

19 hours ago