Runner Up - Newtown Local Business of the Year 2024 (Third Sector)


Local councillor switches group

Newtown east county councillor Joy Jones has joined the Powys Independents group.

1 week ago   1 minute read   1,512 views

The image for Local councillor switches group

By Elgan Hearn
Local Democracy Reporter

Newtown east county councillor Joy Jones has joined the Powys Independents group.

Cllr Jones who represents Newtown East has been a non-aligned councillor staying out of the political group structure at county hall for several years.

  Other Trending Stories

The new political force on the council, the Powys Independents group unveiled their new recruit over the weekend.

Cllr Jones’ move which takes the group up to 16 members which sees them once again overtake the Conservative group to become the biggest opposition group at county hall.

Following their victory in the Rhiwcynon ward by-election which was only last Tuesday (June 4) the Conservative group had drawn level with 15 councillors.

Cllr Jones said: “I am really pleased to have joined up with my independent colleagues in forming a strong opposition group.

“Together we are stronger and have a greater understanding of developments as they happen, which can only be for the benefit of all our residents across Powys.”

Powys Independents joint leaders Cllrs Bevereley Baynham and Ange Williams said: “We are delighted to welcome Joy as a member of the Powys Independents Group.

“She is a vastly experienced and highly respected county councillor and will be a valued member of our growing group as we continue challenging the ruling coalition to help get the right outcomes for our residents.”

The Powys Independents group formed just ahead of the council’s annual meeting last month when two groups of independent councillors merged and were joined by two non-aligned councillors.

In April, the council’s Democratic Services committee decided to recommend to the full council scrapping the role of member champions, including the anti-poverty role which has been held by Cllr Jones since 2014.

At the council’s annual meeting in May, the chair of the Democratic Services committee was taken over by Cllr Graham Breeze of the Powys Independents group.

The new council make up is:

Minority Administration

Liberal Democrats – 22.

Labour – 9.

Green Party – 1.

Opposition groups.

Powys Independents group – 16

Conservatives – 15

Plaid Cymru – 3.

Non-affiliated councillors – 2


You've viewed 1 stories so fas!

All About Newtown is an independent not-for-profit online news and information service for the town of Newtown in Mid Wales. We provide ad-free content, so rely on reader subscriptions and donations to run.

  Donate via PayPal

Related or similar stories based on this one

Who's on the Car Parking Review group?

8 months ago

Independent groups merge to create new opposition

1 month ago

Town Council set to co-opt new councillors

1 year ago

Cabinet member steps down from Cabinet

1 year ago

Town councillor allowances double in one year

9 months ago

Town councillors set to respond to school proposals

3 months ago

Business of the Week
New Home Furnishings

Vastre Industrial Estate

Follow us

Connect with us on Facebook, X (formerly Twitter), Instagram and Google News


New bridge to be installed next week

16 hours ago

Award winning escape rooms go mobile

2 days ago

General Election 24: Oliver Lewis

1 day ago

Donate to us

We're a not-for-profit community interest company and have no corporate owners. We'd appreciate anything you can give to keep us providing free content.

  Donate via PayPal
Upcoming Events
A History (and Future) of Learning Disabilities in the UK

20/06/24 10:00am

Digital Friends’ Group

21/06/24 09:30am

David Bolton - TV Hypnotist

21/06/24 06:00pm

Latest Stories
New bridge to be installed next week

16 hours ago

Inflation returns to 2% target

17 hours ago

Final day to apply for postal vote in General Election

20 hours ago